Longest winning streak in each state

When most high school football fans, writers, historians, players, hold conversations about all-time winning streaks, the De La Salle Spartans in Concord, California, typically takes center stage—after maybe a quick Google search—with a run that lasted 151 games.

That’s over a decade of dominance. 

But the juggernaut from Northern Cali isn’t the only impressive football team to avoid the loss column for an extended period.

In fact, each state holds a piece of the all-time winning-streak history, with all 50 represented in the High School Sports Historical Vault. And that includes two programs that made history in 2022. 

With that in mind, here’s a look at the perennial programs that have gone unbeaten the longest in each state, spanning multiple seasons and classes.

(Editor’s note: High School football data was sourced from state association archives, MaxPreps, USA TODAY Sports and Gannett local newspapers, such as the Burlington Free Press.)

Related: See the USA TODAY Sports all-time Super 25 champions

Alabama: 71 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Edgewood Academy: 2010-2015

Alaska: 59 wins

(Photo: Twitter)

Soldotna: 2012-2018

Arizona: 63 wins

(Photo: Tom Tingle/azcentral sports)

Blue Ridge: 1994-1998

Arkansas: 63 wins

(AP Photo/Mike Wintroath)

Barton: 1985-1990

California: 151 wins

(Via OlyDrop)

De La Salle: 1992-2003

Colorado: 50 wins

(Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports)

Limon: 2003-2006

Connecticut: 49 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Cheshire: 1992-1996

Delaware: 53 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Middletown: 1962-1967

Florida: 53 wins

(Ernst Peters/The Ledger)

Lakeland: 2004-2007

Georgia: 50 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

John Milledge Academy: 2018 – present

Hawaii: 55 wins

(Photo: Bryon Ng)

St. Louis: 1985-1990

Idaho: 54 wins

(USA TODAY Networks)

Snake River High School: 1998-2002

Illinois: 64 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Pittsfield: 1966-1973

Indiana: 60 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Bloomington South: 1967-1973

Iowa: 56 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Regina: 2010-2014

Kansas: 79 wins

(Photo: Kynan Marlin/Arizona Republic)

Smith Center: 2004-2009

Kentucky: 50 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Trinity: 1988-1991

Louisiana: 60 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Evangel Christian Academy: 1996-1999

(on field, 30 after forfeit)

Maine: 48 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Orono: 1977-1982

Maryland: 53 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Damascus: 2015-2018

Massachusetts: 52 wins


Acton-Boxborough: 2001-2005

Michigan: 72 wins


Hudson: 1968-1975

Minnesota: 71 wins


Caledonia: 2015-2021

Mississippi: 89 wins


South Panola: 2003-2008

Missouri: 71 wins

(Stephen Lew-USA TODAY Sports)

Jefferson City: 1958-1966

Montana: 42 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Sidney: 1990-1993

Nebraska: 48 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Cambridge: 1996-1999

Nevada: 55 wins

(Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports)

Bishop Gorman: 2013-2017

New Hampshire: 57 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Plymouth: 2005-2010

New Jersey: 63 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Paulsboro: 1992-1997

New Mexico: 69 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Animas: 1984-1990

New York: 62 wins


(USA TODAY Network)

Maine-Endwell: 2011-2015

North Carolina: 109 wins

(Clayton Freeman/Florida Times-Union)

Independence: 2000-2007

North Dakota: 54 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Shanley: 1964-1970

Ohio: 57 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

St. John’s (Delphos): 1996-2001

Oklahoma: 58 wins

Photo: Bixby Athletics

Bixby: 2018-2022

Oregon: 45 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Amity: 1999-2002

Pennsylvania: 66 wins

(Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports)

Clairton: 2009-2013

Rhode Island: 35 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Bloomfield: 1996-2000

South Carolina: 96

(Photo: Kynan Marlin/Arizona Republic)

Sims: 1945-1954

South Dakota: 44 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Milbank: 1959-63

Tennessee: 82 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Bedford County Training School: 1943-50

Texas: 78 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Celina: 1998-2002

Utah: 48 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Duchesne: 2010-2014

Vermont: 26 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Hartford: 2010-2014

Virginia: 52 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Riverheads: 2018-2022

Washington: 67 wins

(Pexels photo)

Bellevue: 2010-2014

West Virginia: 57 wins

(AP Photo)

Wisconsin: 70 wins

(Danny Damiani/USA TODAY NETWORK-Wisconsin)

Kimberly High School: 2013-2018

Wyoming: 34 wins

(USA TODAY Network)

Laramie: 1959-1963

Source link

Related Articles

Do you run a company that want to build a new website and are looking for a web agency in Sweden that can do the job? At Partna you can get connected to experienced web agencies that are interested in helping you with your website development. Partna is an online service where you simply post your web development needs in order to get business offers from skilled web agencies in Sweden. Instead of reaching out to hundreds of agencies by yourself, let up to 5 web agencies come to you via Partna.
Back to top button